Reflections {Day 1} : To Smell the Roses

by inbetweenroses

To smell the roses. To take a moment to reflect. How oft’ we overlook & forget thee? For the next few days, I’ve decided to take the time to reflect the happenings of the day-to-day life. I cannot promise quality writings, but I give thee my word: to bring about raw tidbits of thoughts, that churn the gears of my brain. Without further adieu,: 

Today’s reflection found its way through a FaceTime conversation with a dear friend of mine. Prior to our conversation, I had spent the evening making my way through Nayyirah Waheed’s Nejma, trying to catch my breath each time one of her poem’s found me sunken. Needless to say, I was feeling spirited and prolific.

My dear friend, stressed and maddened about midterms and deadlines, announced that she was going back to photography. She expressed her desire to take some time to herself each day to do so, and then returning to her books. I, of course, was surprised by her sudden proclamation, aware that finals and assignments loomed over her head. However, I was more surprised at the revelation of my dear friend’s quiet passion, photography. Over-joyed with my her new action plan, I eagerly encouraged her to start up a blog, to find a niche within the world-wide web, as my writings & I did.

So here’s today’s reflections: In order to be happy, and in order to find success, one must be attuned with their creative side. I have found that despite the chaos of daily life and its demands, one must always find the time to be creative. Whether it be in the form of photography, cooking, painting, cake decorating, interior designing, party planning, doodling or writing. Being creative connects you with yourself, reminds you of goodness and encourages you to have a little fun sometimes. Allowing you to smell the roses. 

“The painter has the Universe in his mind and hands.”
Leonardo da Vinci

